Environmental Justice Distressed Municipalities 2022

Environmental Justice Block Groups 2022 was created from Connecticut block group boundary data located in the Census Bureau's 2020 TIGER/Line Shapefiles. The poverty data used to determine which block groups qualified as EJ communities (see CT State statute 22a-20a) was based on the Census Bureau's 2020 ACS 5-year estimate. This poverty data was joined with the block group boundaries in ArcPro. Block groups in which the percent of the population below 200% of the federal poverty level was greater than or equal to 30.0 were selected and the resulting selection was exported as a new shapefile. The block groups were then clipped so that only those block groups outside of distressed municipalities were displayed. Maintenance – This layer will be updated annually and will coincide with the annual distressed municipalities update (around August/September). The latest ACS 5-year estimate data should be used to update this layer. Environmental Justice Distressed Municipalities 2020 was created from Connecticut town boundary data located in the Census Bureau's 2020 TIGER/Line Shapefiles (County Subdivisions). 

From this shapefile, "select by attribute" was used to select the distressed municipalities by town name (note: the list of 2022 distressed municipalities was provided by the CT Department of Economic and Community Development). The selection was then exported a new shapefile. The “Union” tool was used to unite the new shapefile with tribal lands (American Indian Area Geography) boundary data from the 2020 TIGER/Line files. In the resulting layer, the tribal lands were deleted so only the distressed municipalities remained. Maintenance – This layer will be updated annually when the DECD produces its new list of distressed municipalities (around August/September).

Note: A distressed municipality, as designated by the Connecticut Department of Economic and Community Development, includes municipalities that no longer meet the threshold requirements but are still in a 5-year grace period. (See definition at CGS Sec. 32-9p(b).) Fitting into that grace period, eight towns continue to be eligible for distressed municipality benefits because they dropped off the list within the last five years. Those are Enfield, Killingly, Naugatuck, Plymouth, New Haven, Preston, Stratford, and Voluntown.


CKAN dataset id 512013d1-4df2-428d-9274-a705316aaec1
상태 active
url https://catalog.data.gov/dataset/environmental-justice-distressed-municipalities-2022
버전 2024-02-09
라이선스 cc-zero
accessLevel public
catalog_@context https://project-open-data.cio.gov/v1.1/schema/catalog.jsonld
catalog_@id https://data.ct.gov/data.json
catalog_conformsTo https://project-open-data.cio.gov/v1.1/schema
catalog_describedBy https://project-open-data.cio.gov/v1.1/schema/catalog.json
harvest_object_id 48b4ace0-dce8-43c5-b88e-fc8fa10a6762
harvest_source_id 36c82f29-4f54-495e-a878-2c07320bf10c
harvest_source_title Connecticut Data.json
identifier https://www.arcgis.com/home/item.html?id=5ee667d1ac304fb3830f193a8179ffe0&sublayer=1
issued 2023-05-23
landingPage https://geodata.ct.gov/maps/CTDEEP::environmental-justice-distressed-municipalities-2022
license http://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0
metadata_type geospatial
modified 2023-06-26
old-spatial -73.2435,41.1398,-71.7816,42.0307
publisher Department of Energy & Environmental Protection
resource-type Dataset
source_datajson_identifier true
source_hash 777a95c6b9fd0b0c8c931e2b36e07696277be38fbebf506ff6d98d0d25f73c6c
source_schema_version 1.1
spatial {"type": "Polygon", "coordinates": [[[-73.2435, 41.1398], [-73.2435, 42.0307], [-71.7816, 42.0307], [-71.7816, 41.1398], [-73.2435, 41.1398]]]}
theme {geospatial}
담당자 deepgis
담당자 연락처 deep.helpdesk.footprints@ct.gov
제공 기관 State of Connecticut
최초 수집 일시 2024-02-20T23:05:01…
최근 수집 일시 2024-02-20T23:05:01…

한줄평을 쓰려면 로그인하세요.

전체 데이터셋 보기